Oleksandr Fedorovych Znosko-Borovskiy (February 27, 1908 – March 8, 1983)

Oleksandr Fedorovych Znosko-Borovskiy (February 27, 1908 – March 8, 1983)

 Oleksandr Fedorovych Znosko-Borovskiy (born February 27, 1908, Kyiv, Ukraine – died March 8, 1983, Kyiv, Ukraine) was a Ukrainian composer, teacher, musicologist, Honored Art Worker of the Ukrainian SSR (1979).


Oleksandr Fedorovych Znosko-Borovskiy was born February 27, 1908 in Kyiv in Ukraine. Not much is known about his life.

In 1925-1927 Znosko-Borovskiy studied at the Kyiv musical vocational school in the violin class of Ya.S. Magaziner.  In 1932, he graduated from the Kiev Institute of Music and Drama named after N.V. Lysenko in the composition class of L.N. Revutsky.

In 1931-1942 Znosko-Borovskiy was a composer and consultant to the Kiev studio of feature films (now The Dovzhenko Film Studios). In 1942-1945 he served in the Soviet Army. In 1945-1963 he was the head of the editorial board of musical literature of the Izomuzgiz publishing house (formerly Mystestvo). In 1946-1968 he was a member of the board of the Union of Composers of Ukraine. In 1958-1968 Znosko-Borovskiy was the chairman of the board of the Ukrainian branch of the USSR Musical Fund. Since 1963 he did creative work.

Oleksandr Fedorovych Znosko-Borovskiy died on March 8, 1983 in Kyiv.


Znosko-Borovsky was the author of the ballet Akpamik (based on Turkmen folk tales, 1944-1945, co-authored with Veli Mukhatov), a number of symphonic works, including 3 symphonies, a number of chamber instrumental, chamber vocal and choral works. Znosko-Borovsky used elements of Ukrainian and Turkmen musical folklore. He is the author of musicological works.

Symphonic Works:

  • Symphony № 1 (1958)
  • Symphony № 2, op. 30 (1960) – Jan Turkmenistan (Dzhan-Turkmenystan)
  • Symphony № 3, op. 39 (1967)
  • Violin Concerto with Orchestra, op. 26 (1951-1955)
  • Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, op. 43 (1968-1969)
  • Concerto for French Horn and Orchestra, op. 54 (1975)
  • Symphonic Poem Kos-Aral, op. 33 (1963)
  • Symphonic Picture Beside the Mausoleum (Bilya Mavzoleyu), op. 45 (1969)


  • Russian (Rosiys'ka), op. 10 (1931-1933)
  • Congratulatory (Pryvital'na), op. 24 (1949)
  • Holiday of Friendship (Sviato druzhby) (1964)
  • Youth (Molodizhna) (1970)
  • Pioneer (Pioners'ka) (1970)

Chamber and Instrumental Works:

  • compositions for string quartet
  • three sonatas for solo violin
  • two sonatas for violin and cello
  • suites for violin and piano
  • works for chamber orchestra

Chamber-vocal and Choral Works:

  • Vocal Cycle Loyalty (Virnist') lyrics by V. Sosiura, op. 16 (1939-1962);
  • Solemn Cantata Our Victory (Nasha peremoha) lyrics by Surkov and A. Sofronov, op. 21 (1946-1947);
  • music for radio productions and cartoons.


You can find and download free scores of the composer:



Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.